New Header Image, and Coconut Kefir

A belated Christmas present for my 3.5 readers. 🙂 In case anyone was wondering, I took that photo in my neighborhood. The names of my neighbors have been changed to protect their human dignity.

This was from the snowpocalypse of 2011, werein we were snow bound in our house for over a week. I had to wade through the snow to a local gas station to get groceries.

For what it’s worth, I *finally* managed to try that cultured, unsweetened coconut milk from So Delicious. Even unsweetened, it is pretty good for drinking straight, though my husband thought it was somewhat tasteless and only vaguely coconutty. I disagree, but only because I restrict my sugar. My first thought was, “Wow, this would taste awesome with cherry concentrate!” I did try it… using my magic 1 tablespoon for an 10 oz glass.  It was kind of tart, even for me.  Strangely, it was much more tart than it was straight! Though you don’t need much sweetener to correct the problem… even a dash of brown rice syrup was able to right the balance of flavor.

If they ever come up with a way to make BRS easier to dispense, I will be the first to start a parade of joy. That stuff makes honey look easy and forgiving!   If I ever own a container that doesn’t get cemented to the counter top during the course of using it in a recipe– it will be the first time!  When will they come up with a better vessel than a mason jar?  That is a vessel optimized for disaster when what you are dispensing is syrupy and extremely sticky!

On the other hand… it is the least expensive of the exotic sweeteners– and developing a better way probably costs money. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

