CakeInAMug: GF style

A cousin of mine shared with me a link to cake in a mug that you microwave for a few minutes and get… cake!

FYI: my microwave is a 12000 watt SAMSUNG. That means her recipe is over powered for my device, but I tried it by rote as much as I could. (Not pictured. It was not feeling photogenic today)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, I was wondering if a gluten-free version could be had. I am thinking that a combination of white buckwheat and rice flour would be prefect for such a recipe.  Now all I have to do is find it.  However, I plan on trying a few different flours. Such a small amount will make it easier to experiment.

MugComparison_MugCake_tn

regular sized mug on Left, BIG Mug I used on Right

As it happened, what I had on hand was a generic gluten free all purpose flour mix which looks suspiciously like Bob’s Red Mill’s version.  (I bought it from Mennonites in Michigan, so I’m not sure.)  This seemed insufficiently healthy (despite all that pea and garbanzo bean flour) so I mixed it up with a bit of Amaranth flour.  You can kind of see the mixture I used in the comparison shot above. It looks like the hot cocoa mix– the darker redder brown stuff is the unmixed coconut sugar.  So after the GF and dietary calculus, what I got is below:

Margot Mike’s Nearly Instant GF Cake

  • 3 tbs of gluten free AP flour
  • 1 tbs of Ameranth flour
  • 1/4 teas. of xanthan [skip this.]
  • 1/4 teas. of gluten free (featherlight) baking powder
  • 1 dash of [fleur de cel] sea salt
  • 2 tbs of baking cocoa
  • 3 tbs of grapeseed oil
  • 3 tbs of coconut sugar
  • 3 tbs of almond milk
  • 1 Large Chicken Egg
  • 1 tbs of small cocoloate chips [mine were from Enjoy Life]
  • 1 dash (1/16th of a teaspoon– I filled up an 1/8th of a teaspoon half way) of Rodale’s Bourbon Vanilla

One of the disappointing things about this recipe is that she did not seem to know that bakers consider sugar a wet good rather than a dried good, OR she assumed that everyone knows that and simply did not mention when she added the sugar. So I improvised.

First, I sprayed my BIG mug with coconut oil spray.

I mixed up the flours, cocoa, the xanthan and salt  with a fork.  Fortunately the fours did not go everywhere, but they did wind up sticking to the mug pretty hard core. I shrugged and proceeded.

Then, I added the sugar, but did not mix. I added the egg.

EggMug_MugCake_tn

Then the sugar and egg and dry goods together were mixed together well.  Then I added the wet goods as advertised and mixed again, and got… this.

I was dubious about the spray doing anything to preserve me from having to scrub my mug. But it’s nearly instant cake, so what do you want?

Baked_MugCake_tn

So yeah, I popped it in the microwave for 3.5 minutes on high, and got…. this.

FlippedBaked_MugCake_tn

It smelled wonderful about a minute before it was done.

That is probably when I should have taken it out, but I was determined to follow the recipe until I was proven wrong.

Moment of truth:

Looks good, doesn’t it?  🙂

And here it is, dolled up with cherry concentrate and mimicreme.  Yum!

PresentedCut_MugCake_tn

The verdict: delicious! I have to say, I nuked it too long, and it was unevenly overdone in the inside.

I also think I added too much xanthan,

but where it was light and fluffy it was magnificent.

The original called for 3 tbs of chocolate chips– but I thought that was a bit… over the top. While that may be the point of this recipe, I really liked 1 tablespoon of chips. They did float to the bottom as the commenters worried, but… if you flip the cake and eat it like I did, that’s not a problem.

Hey, even Husband liked the taste of it, though he was rather put off by toughness. I’m still convinced that the toughness problem was undistributed lumps of xanthan (this is why I told you not to use it!) and that it was over cooked. I have to test that theory, but if you really can’t wait for my results– I understand!

I have this evil idea that you could make a red velvet mug microwave cake, but that’s still in development.  I’m also going to work on a carob or at least partial carob recipe. I’m still convinced that carob and chocolate taste better together than either do on their own– and maybe some day I’ll have a recipe to prove it. Sure worked well with my brownies!But, that’s another show.  😉

So I’m going to try it again with the same flours and differently timed and with less Xanthan.  I will let you know– and do let me know!

Oh, and one last note about xanthan. There’s a reason not to add it that I remembered just as I was popping my little cake into Chef Mike. That is, there is plenty of xanthan in the almond milk for this recipe, and that adding some was overkill.  So, that’s my 2 cents.

I should probably wait on posting this so I get a wider sample… but it’s cake. Who can wait?  I mean, it’s cake!

PS. I’m sorry if the pictures are slightly out of sync with the text. Apparently WordPress knows better how I want my photos arranged than I, and it won’t save the [expletive deleted] text and images the way I positioned them.

PPS:  For part two of the exploration of this recipe, go here.

2 thoughts on “CakeInAMug: GF style

Leave a Reply

