Errata

This is what searching “Random Images” gets you on WMC. I thought it was kind of appropriate, for some reason. By Highway Patrol Images [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Ok, after yesterday, I am kind of… well, not quite burned out, but quiescent.

I wanted to jump right back in with a food post, but my schedule doesnt’ allow it. So I will just list some kale related things that I’ve learned recently.

1. To store in the fridge while shredded  you leave it damp, give it some head room, and spritz it with a white vinegar solution. I use 50/50 with distilled water. Provided it’s a %10 acetic acid solution. If it’s %5 percent, go ahead and use it straight.  The head room is important, because it “gasses out” a fairly foul smell that resembles cooking cabbage the wrong way.  Then rinse with cold water, and then use.  It lasts for about three days this way, which is  a leg up from 1.5 before the gassing out makes any thought of eating unattractive.

2. I ran out of carrot juice, so I had to switch to shredded carrots. I find that an ounce is about right– yes it in creases the fiber content but by nothing I think is terrible. Just be sure to blend it an awful lot, and use the fine shred side of your grater.   For what it’s worth, you can get about 2 ounces of shredded carrot from a medium sized “long skinny” carrot, which is too narrow to peel.  I only peel the thick ones, because they are old, and this the skin gets that bitter/caustic flavor. If that grosses you out, scrubbing them can remove most of the skin anyway.

3. Some combination of coconut oil (about 1/2 a tablespoon) and protein powder and using a coconut/almond milk combo make for a smoothie that does not separate, even with significant kale involvement. Essentially I use the Blue diamond blend as the base instead of coconut water.   Use the carrot, the kale, the fat, and the  one serving of protein powder, add 1 teaspoon of cherry juice and a half-teaspoon of coconut aminos, and you have something delicious, not too sweet, and works like a meal.

Yeah, I know, the fat phobes are going to freak, but it really does do a body good.  In fact, if you have significant problems with cravings as a diabetic, and you follow one of those crazy low-fat high-carb diets, half the reason why you are hungry all the time is that your body wants to burn fat instead of simple sugars.  It’s more efficient, and doesn’t mess with your GI index. So, as long as you don’t go crazy, what’s the problem?  I’ve actually lost weight by cutting my carbs,  and increasing my fat intake (as per doctors orders!).  Now, I don’t go crazy with fat, because I can’t have most of those things that make it so easy to consume, but… at least discuss it with a doctor with the right knowledge and a more open mind.

Leave a Reply

