About my O’Brien Comment…

First of all, this is a pretty crappy 70th post. Sorry. I’ll celebrate one later… I assert I started on #0 anyway.

I refer to this little “gem” here.

First of all, I want to apologize to all those fine people in the Anglican Ordinariate, as well as those moral people who are trying to hold together what’s left of the Anglican Church. God be with you, I’m serious. My heart goes out to you.

What I’m referring to is the church of Vapor that the Anglican church aspires to become–that which the members of the AO are fleeing, as well what those hardy souls have stayed behind to fight against.  THAT church, O’Brien would be quite comfortable with.  What I don’t understand is why he stays with a Church he quite obviously doesn’t believe in.  I certainly don’t want his soul to languish in Hell, but I’m still not sure why he wants our Catholic faith to just… become like everybody else.  Is that really a sign from Christ?  I seem to remember him being crucified, for some reason, and not because the Sanhedrin thought he was the wave of the future.

Fine writers have suggested that this “church of Vapor” was active even in Chesterton’s time, for which I have some quotes if anybody’s interested, but he was… awfully opinionated. 😛  Probably why I like him so much!

 

 

One thought on “About my O’Brien Comment…

  1. Actually, I want all the good Anglicans to join the Ordinariate. But even those who stay behind to try to salvage what some of what was salutary to be abandoned, if that makes any sense. Boy am I good at foot-n-mouth today!

Leave a Reply

