Writing about Suicide

Beata_Beatrix,_cropYes, there’s a reason why I  haven’t published the suicide article yet.  For one thing, it consists of five jumbled, dense and emotionally charged pages.  These pages contain essential content about three different things–nominally all about suicide. I currently have it divided into two for the moment, and I don’t have time right now to edit it and add coherence.  At this point, I can’t even see how many articles best express this information cogently.

Suicide is a big topic, and it has a lot of relevance to my former  life. The usual ‘dash and go’ just doesn’t work here.  This is going to take a while.  Maybe Friday, maybe early next week. There’s editing and soul searching to go through yet.  Worry not! Should I experience another rough patch, I will get very annoyed and live anyway– just out of spite.  😛

What to do if your friend is suicidal

  1. 1. Be a friend. 
  2. Listen
  3. Don’t blame yourself; just about anything can be a trigger towards stability and life, or it’s opposite.

The third one of these sounds cold, crass and nasty– but it’s the truth.  A person standing on that precipice looks at everything through a different lens. It is hard to know how it affects things.  Sometimes, even if you do know that person, and think you know what that lens is doing, be aware that things change. People adapt, and it can be hard to know which way it could go.  The worst part about all this is the uncertainty.

4 thoughts on “Writing about Suicide

  1. The mother of my son’s best friend committed suicide and it is such a hard thing to talk about. The questions we have, they why, what did I miss, how could this happen. You mention the trigger can be anything, those of us who are left to deal with the consequences are left to explain that to our children. My son was 4 when this happened, so it is a topic our family has grown up discussing.

    1. Yes. Suicide leaves a terrible legacy. It stained my husband’s family. The anniversary coincides with a major holiday. There are those who still working through the fallout 50 years later. So more stress for an already stressful time of year. 😦 In my family (them that talk) still talks about a great grand relative who killed herself by setting a barn on fire. Everyone was devastated and confused, because she was the baby of the family who was cherished by everyone.

      In my case– just remember to never give me Prozac. I had problems, but never before had I even considered it an option. I’m just glad I didn’t become ‘a statistic on a government chart,’ or a medical chart for that matter.

      1. My friend was on Zoloft and her youngest child was only one when it occurred. For some those drugs are greatly helpful, but for others detrimental. I wish the medical community had a better way of determining how to measure or evaluate the drugs efficacy for each individual.

      2. My doctor tells me that there is a program in the works to use genetic markers to determine bio-compaibility for various drugs. They are already seeing patterns for drugs that also keys into various inherited diseases and even allergies and sensitivities that hint at what classes of drugs work for whom. That will change everything. But it will take a long time for this transition to take place. It has to paralell the genome project, and is many times more complex. Untill then we do what we can with what we have, and what science can’t do,(or hasn’t done yet) we pray.

Leave a Reply

