Wedding Day

Public domainThis image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired. Via Wikimedia Commons Jean Eugene Buland : "Mariage innocent"

Public domain This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.
Via Wikimedia Commons
Jean Eugene Buland : “Mariage innocent”

Some friends of mine are getting married today, and I’m going to be there. This is for them.  Congratulations!

My favorite story from my own wedding (no one else should be embarrassed on this special day) was when my husband-to-be handed off his keys to my brother so he could get stuff from the house to the church. The flowers were forgotten, but I don’t’ remember them ever showing up.  At any rate, my maid of honor insisted on taking away my keys… so we wound up stranded at the Church with no way to get to our reception.

Turns out, Groom and I had to hitch a ride on the Wedding photographer’s van.  The reception was over an hour away.  I  couldn’t fit in your average cab in my dress– the crinoline was rather expansive.  So to prevent our car from being towed out of the church parking lot, husband had to get a ride to the reception area to get the keys, then take a cab back to the City, and then drive the car to the reception site– just in time to take me home.

As it was, even I didn’t make it to the reception until most of my friends were already leaving.

Moral of the story– set up your wedding so that the bride and groom don’t have to worry about ANYTHING practical ALL DAY. Things like transportation.  All you will be good for is walking down that aisle and saying I do.  You are, after all, signing your whole life into  the love of your life’s  hands.  Seriously.

Leave a Reply

