More Breakfast [UPDATE]

By Dalgial (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Okay, so I tried our recipe from the previous post with rice flour instead.

For those of you just joining us at home, that would be:

  • 2 tbs Rice Flour (formerly Almond meal/flour)
  • 1 tbs of GF oat bran
  • 1 tbs of amaranth flour
  • 1 tsp of Coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • Enhancements (1 pinch salt, fruit, sweetener, coconut milk, etc…)

The results are– different, but still decent.  I’m hesitant because the texture is VERY different, and I’m not sure if everybody would like it. It is VERY smooth, and the gloopiness is more evident.  I had to add milk right out of the microwave to stave off seizing the moment it cooled. I had to stir– rather a lot– to at least reduce if not mitigate the lumps.

So I’m thinking that this is one of those experiments that I’m willing to eat, even if it’s not necessarily what you aim for (unless smooth and thick is what you want).  I think this is even more promising for things like flat bread or crepes– or some kind of coating or batter. Though I’d use more water and probably less of our aggressively binding binders.   But I still think the texture is better than what we’d get from amaranth or oat bran alone.  In this one, I recommend adding the filtered out oatbran back in from the sifter. It’s harsh grittiness is not there at all during eating, and what little texture you get out of it is a relief.  But then, what I don’t like about liver is the texture.

I will say, however, my biggest concern in making this was taste. Before I tried it, I knew that rice can have this tendency to taste *raw* if you don’t cook it enough. And 2 minutes in the microwave is not much, even for something as fine as flour.  The result– is surprising, and very good. I did not think it tasted like flour at all– indeed it smelled more like the oat-bran than it did rice.

By Fritz Geller-Grimm (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-2.5 or CC-BY-SA-2.5], via Wikimedia Commons

It’s more… bland than the previous recipe. I think that the fat from the almonds really added something both flavor and texture wise.   A half or quarter pat of coconut fat would enhance the eating experience a great deal.  The salt is also a practical requirement rather than a pleasant suggestion in terms of edibility, too.  Though a dab of almond, nut or seed butter would also go a long way towards a more pleasant experience.

I still used my protein powder– though after tasting it a few times without.  I think that about any breakfast experience is made better with added protein, but I’m like that.

Also, I want to unpack the process a little bit.  I measure the flours into a 1 cup measuring cup, then sift them to my bowl.  Optionally dump the de-lumped  oat bran granules back into the bowl. Then you add the 1/2 cup of water slowly. Make a paste before you make soup– that helps keep down the lumps.

If you want to try this version, try adding a bit more water before nuking– 2 tbs more or so to start.  I haven’t tried it yet, but more water will give you more time to cushion against creating a seized lump of paste in your breakfast bowl.  Have your additional milk or water ready right when you pull it out of the microwave, just in case. Also, it helps if the fluid of choice is warm rather than cold. Less stirring is necessary that way.  Or, add your fat first, stir that in, then your fluid choice. That also works, because the fat is even more effective at mitigating seizing than the fluid is.

And it is even more important than usual to clean out your bowl right after eating. You will thank me later.

Click Image for author [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a comment