Yet More Breakfast [Continuation]

By H. Zell (Own work) [GFDL or CC-BY-3.0], via Wikimedia Common  

So I tried making the breakfast recipe again, only this time I omitted the ameranth, and just used
  • 2 tbs of GF oat bran
  • 2 tbs almond flour/meal
  • 1 tsp oat flour
  • 1 tsp rice flour
  • 1/2 cup of water

I used the typical pattern and nuked it on high for two minutes. The results looked pretty promising until I started eating.  I enjoyed it, but some people would not. If you don’t like oatmeal because of the “slime” factor, you will recognize that attribute here.

Adding one serving  protein powder (with a dash of milk-of-choice) does help, but probably not as much as a lot of people would like. I’m not sure how the synergy between the amaranth and oat bran works, but I guess their respective sliminess cancels each other out.

The flavor and texture otherwise are very good.

For what it’s worth, I don’t think the brown rice flour did very much, so you can just omit it.

I will write about something else. I promise.

Leave a Reply

