NAMASTE Pancake Review

TitlePancakes20130820

@2013 mea culpa
I even got leftovers I want to keep!

This morning I decided to make pancakes. I had mix I bought from the Megamart. They did not have hot cereal, and I did want to wing it this week. So I broke down and bought a mix.

I wanted to give Namaste five stars right out of the gate because they actually did not use any ingredients that I can’t have. At least, until my doctor decides rice is out of the question, I’m good.  That would be– no potatoes, no corn, no soy, no gluten, no peanuts or wheat, and it’s actually made for real allergic people, and not just us sensitive types.  The price is reasonable  as these things go– you actually get more than one batch per bag. Granted, it’s two, but… that is still significantly better than average.

@mea culpa 2013 Margot Sez: I only highlighted the batch information for my own benefit.

@mea culpa 2013
Margot Sez: I only highlighted the batch information for my own benefit.
Copyrights of this package are the property of their respective owners.

But I had a qualm. I could not figure out how many batches it made. Now I looked, and I swear I looked. But it says right on the bag that it makes two batches of pancakes. I am split with indecision– to headdesk or to facepalm?  Well, let’s make pancakes.

@mea culpa 2013

@mea culpa 2013

Secondly, the waffle batter directions were on top of the pancake directions, so I wound up measuring out the wrong amount of liquid… or so I thought. After realizing my false step I dumped two eggs and 3/4 of milk down the sink *facepalm*.  Now that I know better, I will start with 3/4 cup of liquid next time– because the waffle mix makes  better pancakes anyway.  For me 1/2 cup of liquid was so thick that it was more dry lumps than actual batter.  Even if it had been possible to incorporate better, I could have used it as sculpting medium.  Though adding 1/4 cup of liquid did help the batter in retrospect, it did not mix into the batter evenly.  This turned out not to affect things much, though my latter pancakes were a little thin.

@mea culpa 2013 Margot Sez: See, this proves it. One batch left, bedecked with my pretty little bird clip.

@mea culpa 2013
Margot Sez: See, this proves it. One batch left, bedecked with my pretty little bird clip.

It is better if you start with all the liquid you are going to need.  I think a big part of this is that I was using almond milk as liquid instead of water or rice milk. So it was adding guar and other thickeners that are present in the almond milk.

It was an opportunity to bring out my griddle.  Yeah, I have one. *starry eyed* Thank you, Husband!  A griddle is a wonderful thing.  I cleaned it off with some salt and a damp cloth, then oiled the surface coconut spray and turned it on.

While it heated, I made my batter.  I don’t have any pictures of the batter making process… but keep in mind you mix all the liquids first, then add the mix.  They call for two eggs and two tablespoons of oil, and 1/2 cup of liquid (water or rice milk say the instructions).

I think next time I’m going to add the flour mix gradually, rather than just dumping it all in at once.  I added one packet of Monk Fruit Sweetener (Nectrisse) to the wet batter and stirred again. Like a regular pancake batter, you leave in a few lumps and they cook out.

This batter is extremely gloppy. Have a spoon as well as a ladle to measure out your batter, and scrape the bottom of the ladle first before dragging it over to the griddle. Doing the traditional bowl scrape is not effective.  I think I need a better ladle.  This one is fine for soup, but it is plastic and is about twice the optimum size for pancakes on this griddle. This done, I ladled in spoonfuls of the stuff and made my pancakes.

Silicone_ladles

The batch making also works better if you make smaller pancakes. Due to layout, the griddle only holds three large pancakes– but at least six smaller ones.  Make sure you have an oven on standby to keep your golden cakes warm, because they are much tastier that way.

OmptimalFryingPancakesA7DE-8-20-2013

Keep in mind, it does not brown as aggressively as wheat flour does.  You *can* get it brown, but you have to leave it on the griddle for a while– a hotter setting certainly does help, and if you keep up a good rhythm of pancake making, you don’t have problems with the griddle going in standby mode. Mine seems to have a sensor on the thermostat that heats up more when wet batter touches the surface.

They do get brown, but you have to wait for a while. Also, if you let them get nice and brown, not even close to burning, they get crispy. This is highly pleasant, but if the crispy pancake sets around for a while, or gets covered with syrup or fruit essence, they do tend to get a little tough. And I’m talking about slightly less tough than what you get from wheat pancakes. Not cardboard, nor rubber.

@mea culpa 2013

@mea culpa 2013

Also, these pancakes weep moisture when they first come off the griddle. To the point if you don’t have a paper or tea towel underneath to pick up the excess, they will get soggy.

In sum: these are great. Easy to use mix, cook all the way through, have a very good texture, both soft and crisp and are very tasty. Excellent product.  You get a decent number of pancakes for your trouble, and it is effortless and perfect compared to most               everything I’ve tried.

I also made kiwi-mango salsa/relish, but it wasn’t photogenic.

Fruit-Relish-Crop-2013-08-20

That was the understatement of the century. The stuff looks really unappealing on pancakes, but it was delicious.  I will have to see if a puree would have been prettier. But suffice to say, bright yellow orange and dark yellow green do NOT go well together.  Furthermore, my kiwi were so ripe they just fell into mush, giving the whole thing a seedy, grainy, gelatinous cast.  So you do not get the serving shot. It’s pretty disgusting.

But, pancakes smeared with a little coconut oil (they don’t need much, honest)and  topped with the chopped fruit or a little cherry syrup– delicious!  Five stars. This stuff really is worth what you pay for, and the output is very tasty.

My griddle is even relatively clean.

@MEA CULPA 2013

@MEA CULPA 2013

Leave a Reply

