Poetry and Music

The work of art depicted in this image and the reproduction thereof are in the public domain worldwide. The reproduction is part of a collection of reproductions compiled by The Yorck Project. The compilation copyright is held by Zenodot Verlagsgesellschaft mbH and licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License.

 

So I have been dredging stuff up about poetry in Archive.org. I thought I would share an interesting volume that I ran across that is of much interest.  The hope is to come up with poetry that I could put with the images I post here. I haven’t done it in a while, partially because I want to do the poetry. But rest assured there will be art again.  There will also be articles, so be aware of that.

I also won’t always do poetry. If you don’t like it, you can always ignore it. I intend to always make sure there is something pretty to look at, if nothing else.  Over at Cedar’s Blog, they were talking about “Found Poetry” a few posts ago. I tried my hand at some, and am not sure I like it.  I enjoy the process, but I’m not a fan of the output– yet. But I think I feel my writing getting better. 🙂 I cribbed the text from the introduction to another poetry book.

This little ditty was constructed from the Introduction to the “Introduction to the Methods and Materials of Literary Criticism” by Charles Mills Gayley and Fred Newton Scott. It was rather dry, but I cleaned it up a bit. I’m not sure it really helped, but here we go.

The public reads for itself and estimates,
the artisan who judges, weighs
and pronounces judgement.

The multitude of men are critics unto themselves–
out of the confusion demand raises…a fortiori
guidance, not dogmatic formulation

Its present consciousness dynamic,
it’s condition transitional.

This confines to insistent problems
unaware of relativity;

Now this book does not advocate or advance method
but suggest problems, reviewing methods,

and indicates available materials
An attempt should be justified in opinion

for those subconsciously interested in criticism

 

Moving right along.  Okay, really we are talking about music and poetry now.  Here’s the link to “The Musical Basis of Verse” by Julia Parker Dabney, written in 1901.  I haven’t gotten very far in yet, but she does have a beautifully poetic description of the musical life in ancient Greece. Every cast, every job every place had it’s own specialized form of music. Every form, even the music of the herders, had been transformed into respected form of art even by the high society. this is the origin of where many of the classical forms of poetry actually come from, based on the traditions of these various castes and trades.

I plan on doing a book review after I’ve finished it, and publishing it here.  If I promise to do it in public, it may actually happen. 🙂

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired. From Wikimedia Commons.

Leave a Reply

