Sunday Fail– Tuesday Shrine

Okay. I screwed up. I got in on Sunday night instead of Saturday afternoon, and stared at my blog and gawped “BRAINS” and did nothing.  Monday wasn’t much better.  But here I am now. And you are still getting a shrine.  I’ll do something nice for Mom’s Feast, that is– The Feast of Mary, Mother of God on January First. 🙂  By then, hopefully I’ll be somewhat functional.  We’ll just say Christmas Cheer was on overdrive– 6 family and friends parties in 4 days, with the fifth day (in the middle) off for good behavior.  It was exhausting, but a very good thing.  More later.

By Krzysztof Kundzicz (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

This is from a collection of the Seven Sorrows of Mary, done as Stations for wayside shrines. This one is the Flight into Egypt.   From what I gather this is in a place called Krypno, and if I understand the maps program (which is all Polish and did not translate well) it’s not that far from Warsaw.  We had a lovely homily on the Holy Family last Sunday, talking about the role of Joseph as protector, and his visitations from angels in dreams.

He also mentioned that Joseph goes through the entire cycle of his family trials and says *nothing* throughout.  Sort of puts the complaints that Mary did so little– a strike often spewed by feminists– into perspective, doesn’t it?  But one last thing.  Consider it a foretaste of what’s going on tomorrow.

How many people in all the bible–look at the whole thing– is portrayed saying YES to one of God’s holy angels?  Yes, you can count encounters with God, too–like Isaac–  because the angels are thought to be his words, or his messengers. See. The bible isn’t about face time. The bible is about WHAT YOU DO. Comparing Mary to Jesus in the New Testament is kind of like comparing Malchesidek to GOD in the Old Testament. Totally unfair.

And because I can’t help giving a twofer.  This one below is so gorgeous I couldn’t keep it to myself.

This is another shrine to the Holy Family. This is side shrine in The Basilica of St. Francis Xavier in Dyersville, Iowa. Considering how I feel about both Jesuits and Gothic Architecture, I envision a pilgrimage in my future.

By Nheyob (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Now THAT is a fitting shrine for a Basilica. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas, and have a wonderful New Year, and Feast of Our Lady Mother of God!  I agree with the fellow on the Catholic Forua who said that this is one of those things about Vatican II he actually likes.

Yes, me too!  🙂

Leave a Reply

