Feast of Annunciation–retro

 

The feast of the Annunciation was yesterday.  I find out about this on a Science Fiction site, a day late. Score one for the bad Catholic! EDIT: Turns out it was a Catholic SF site, my further bad.

By Photo: Andreas Praefcke (Own work (own photograph)) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

 So I offer you this little reminder that the Great Decision that opened the way for Christ in our world.

Caravaggio [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

I have to admit– I love Caravaggio’s brushwork and color.  But I do have to wonder what motivated him arranging things so we get a really nice look at the angel’s shoulder. I would prefer to see a bit more of him from the front.

 

Who am I kidding? The real significance was how the Ring was destroyed on this date!  🙂

 

By Zanastardust [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

I note also that the Worlds Most Interesting Programmers work at WordPress. But so far I like the improvements.

Leave a Reply

