Sunday Shrine 6/22–Corpus Christi

Forgive me for being late for Corpus Christi. I’m preparing for a long weekend, and time is short. The blog sort of fell off my list of things to do.  But I thought I’d give you something special for having to wait.  But you will have to scroll to the end.

Here’s this week’s shrine– actually a chapel at St Charles Seminary (retired) at Carthagena, Ohio.

705px-Saint_Charles_Seminary_tabernacle_and_mosaic

 

It has since been turned into a home for elder care.  All photographs of St. Charles Seminary are taken by Nhyob, from Wikimedia Commons. They are distributed by the Creative Commons License.  Beautiful work!

Here’s a closeup of the text near the bottom, around the Tabernacle. Keep in mind, this was done around 1910.

Here is the text, as shown.

Here is the text, as shown.

Text, altered, so the text is (hopefully)  easier to read.

Text, altered, so the text is (hopefully) easier to read.

Below…Here’s the mosaic in context.  A little spare for my taste, but still objectively beautiful, reverent and balanced.