Sunday Shrine 9/28

We have more from photogramar.yale.edu It is, once again, in New Meixco, though this time we go to Pensaco, New Mexico.  These photos are brought to you by Russel Lee.  These were taken in July of 1940.

We start at the church, and go on a pilgrimage. Once there, we go examine the first things in a graveyard, and see an adobe convent.  I provided some verse, as is appropriate while on a pilgrimage.  The quotes are from the Douay Rheims, as brought to you by  http://www.drbo.org/

We should get going. There’s a long way to go.

8b25758v-1This is the first look we have of our church. We see the barn, and the rectory behind.

Matthew 3:11-12

I indeed baptize you in the water unto penance, but he that shall come after me, is mightier than I, whose shoes I am not worthy to bear; he shall baptize you in the Holy Ghost and fire. [12] Whose fan is in his hand, and he will thoroughly cleanse his floor and gather his wheat into the barn; but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.

8b25718v-2This is the beginning of the procession. WE see that the country store is right down the road.
Isaias (Isaiah) 62:10
Go through, go through the gates, prepare the way for the people, make the road plain, pick out the stones, and lift up the standard to the people.

8b25746v-3The beginning of the procession. A man who bears the cross.

Matthew 27:32
And going out, they found a man of Cyrene, named Simon: him they forced to take up his cross.

8a29122v-4x

8a29121v-5x

Isaias (Isaiah) 51:16

I have put my words in thy mouth, and have protected thee in the shadow of my hand, that thou mightest plant the heavens, and found the earth: and mightest say to Sion: Thou art my people.8b25759v-7The door to the Cemetery

Psalms 22:4
For though I should walk in the midst of the shadow of death, I will fear no evils, for thou art with me. Thy rod and thy staff, they have comforted me.

8a29006v-8A grave. I believe those wreaths are supposed to represent the crown of thorns. The herb looks to me to be desert sage.

Psalms 56:2
Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me: for my soul trusteth in thee. And in the shadow of thy wings will I hope, until iniquity pass away.

8b38162v-9 As promised, this is the convent. It looks tidy and very different than others I’ve seen. Also, the architecture looks considerably older than the church viewed above. On the other hand, it looks brand new. That might be because the sisters had recently re-stuccoed the surface. On the old buildings that is done every year.

Genesis 38:14
And she put off the garments of her widowhood, and took a veil: and changing her dress, sat in the cross way, that leadeth to Thamnas: because Sela was grown up, and she had not been married to him.

8b25755v-6
Hebrews 12:2
Looking on Jesus, the author and finisher of faith, who having joy set before him, endured the cross, despising the shame, and now sitteth on the right hand of the throne of God.

Leave a Reply

