Blog View– A house in Catalonia

Here is a sense of setting: where the place is.  Hrm. Seems like the chapel suffered some attitude. Civil war, maybe?

This image by pere prlpz from Wikimedia Commons; dist. under Creative Commons license

Here’s a closeup of one of the larger out buildings.  They certainly built it to last… Weird how the grass in the front makes it look abandoned. Yet there’s an electric light rigged on the front door.  Hrm, that second building back there looks like it’s still inhabited.  It’s also possible that the angle on this door makes it look like there are weeds growing on the inside.

This image created by Isidre blanc from Wikimedia Commons; dist. under the Creative Commons License.

Here’s a closeup of the keystone at the top of that arch on the front of the building.

This image created by Isidre blanc from Wikimedia Commons; dist. under the Creative Commons License.

What interior shots we have, things don’t look inhabitable– at least by first world standards.  Yet, I see what looks like phone cable.

This image created by Isidre blanc from Wikimedia Commons; dist. under the Creative Commons License.

I think somebody needs a new roof… about 10 years ago.

This image created by  Isidre blanc  from Wikimedia Commons; dist. under the Creative Commons License.

Here’s another interior picture.

I wonder where this lake– or pond– is on the bigger picture. Is this a pediment from  the chapel? What’s left of a battery?  (I refer to a place to store munitions, not a way to charge your iPod)  EDIT: I think it’s actually an oven for baking bread. The second picture below that looks like the oven opening.

This image created by  Isidre blanc  from Wikimedia Commons; dist. under the Creative Commons License.

Here’s the oven I was talking about.

Shame we don’t have more photos of this area, to tie the site together, to give some sense of layout to this group.  My other bit of bias is I wanted some closeups of that chapel, or what that ruin was.  But I suppose I telegraph my bias.  🙂

In case you hadn’t figured it out already, I’m a fan of vetting, or various types of breaking and entering  urban exploration. Well, this isn’t exactly urban, but same idea. Ecology of Absence is a neat project for eye candy. I think they get a little pretentious, but I do understand the passion for old abandoned places, and the desire to see them renewed, rather than torn down.

Blast it! Ecology of Absence has been bought out by the Preservation Research Office.

EDIT: Oh, it appears that they didn’t get rid of anything. Whew!

One last thing on this topic, while I really enjoy old creepy photos of abandoned places, I’m not big about people breaking into old hospices for people afflicted with TB. I have a theory that one vector for it’s reemergence into society is through morons finding vessels full of lung fluid and taking them for trophies– only to discover that they are still bioactive.  BURN!

Leave a comment